Google AdSense: Troubleshoot Drop in Earnings

Google AdSense: Troubleshoot Drop in Earnings

This post covers How to Troubleshoot Drop in Earnings with Google AdSense. Do check Optimisation page in AdSense account for tips to increase your earnings. Read more to know the ways to maximize your earnings.

The best resource for any website owner to know more about Google AdSense earnings is AdSense Forum and My AdSense help page. You’ll not miss a beat if you follow these pages and do exactly what is being told.

Troubleshoot a drop in earnings

The most important metrics for Google AdSense as on date is cost-per-click (CPC)CTR and impressions. You access them also from your AdSense account. To review your drop in earnings, do a comparative study and past earnings and get the data regarding how much drop in earnings. Follow these steps:

1 Identify trends or specific issues from past reports.

2 See if any past changes caused revenue drop and yes, know what are these changes.

3 Know on which platform revenue dropped or is it on mobile devices only?

Do you know about how Google AdSense Revenue is Calculated?

Revenue is calculated by multiplying CPC, CTR and impressions

Now let us Understand CPC, CTR and Impressions in the words of Google. I am exactly copying this as I find it the easiest, convenient and concise to remember.

Cost-per-click (CPC)

The cost-per-click (CPC) is the amount that you earn each time a user clicks on your ad. The CPC for any ad is determined by the advertiser; some advertisers may be willing to pay more per click than others, depending on what they’re advertising.

Page CTR

The page clickthrough rate (CTR) is the number of ad clicks divided by the number of page views.

Page CTR = Clicks / Page views

For example, if you received 2 clicks for 250 page views, your page CTR would be 0.8%. (2/250=0.8%)

This metric is only available under the “Custom” metric family tab. You can read all about AdSense Reports here and get the insights into your ad performance.

Earnings Drop because of CTR- Make sure you don’t block ads, check Seasonality quotient of your ads, Opt for responsive ads from ad sizes optimization setting. Also Start showing native ad units. Check account for crawling errors, whether site impacted by Confirmed Click, check location of your ads.

Impressions

An impression is counted for each ad request where at least one ad has begun to download to the user’s device. It is the number of ad units (for content ads) or search queries (for search ads) that loaded ads.

The definitions are summarized below:

  • Served impression: An impression is counted when an ad is sent (or “served”) to a publisher by the ad server. The ad creative may or may not be downloaded to the user’s device, rendered, or viewed by the user.
  • Downloaded impression: An impression is counted only after the ad has begun to download to the user’s device.

The AdSense “Impressions” metric uses the downloaded definition for all impressions. Note that the complementary ActiveView viewable metric is used to determine if users actually viewed the impressions.

Earnings drop because of impressions cab be because of content or because of season. Check Sites report for errors, if page views decline impressions also decline, whether referral traffic has changed, find it from Google Search console what has changed, Update your site with newsletter about your updates.

Any Change in CTR, CPC and Impressions can cause significant change in the revenue.

Lastly you must optimize your ads and website.

For Ads- try new improved auto ads, ensure ads visible with viewability, plus review your blocking control settings.

For Site- Find where your users are, build traffic strategy, check page speed of your site, create an AMP, Experiment with AdSense and more on Google,

Hope you find this post useful. Do share this post if you like it. More on 9888-757966.